Everyone is welcome at the main group meeting.

Meeting on the first Wednesday of each month, except August, this group gets together to hear from other authors and discuss the otherwise solitary experience of writing. We sometimes run workshops, and are always looking for ideas for how we can better support our members.

Competitions

We also run competitions, both internal (members only) and external (members excluded). External competitions offer cash prizes and sometimes Anthology publication — we even won an award for our Anthology in 2015. These competitions run for prose and poetry, and occasionally scripts.

For the internal competitions we award the following to SDWC members:

  • Topsy Evans Silver Salver (prose)
  • Baz Morris Cup (poetry)
  • Edith Courtney Cup (overall competition winner in any one year)
  • The Most Published Pen, for those who had the most things published in any calendar year.

We also try to take time to just relax and get together outside the committee room. This normally takes the form of two social events a year: one summer and one around Christmas.

Main Group Meetings

Venue: Civic Centre, Swansea

Date Time Where?
Wednesday 8th January 2020 7:15pm – 9pm Committee Room 2
Wednesday 5th February 2020 7:15pm – 9pm TBC
Wednesday 4th March 2020 7:15pm – 9pm Committee Room 2
Wednesday 1st April 2020 7:15pm – 9pm Committee Room 2
Wednesday 6th May 2020 7:15pm – 9pm Committee Room 2
Wednesday 3rd June 2020 7:15pm – 9pm Committee Room 2
Wednesday 1st July 2020 7:15pm – 9pm Committee Room 2
Wednesday 5th August 2020 7:15pm – 9pm Committee Room 2
Wednesday 2nd September 2020 7:15pm – 9pm Committee Room 2
Wednesday 7th October 2020 7:15pm – 9pm Committee Room 2
Wednesday 4th November 2020 7:15pm – 9pm Committee Room 2
Wednesday 2nd December 2020 7:15pm – 9pm Committee Room 2